PDA

View Full Version : Pretty Scary Stuff


Core
04-24-2004, 09:01 AM
Heard this on the radio and thought it was a hoax. I guess not.

http://www.godsendinstitute.org/

Vilepagan
04-24-2004, 10:21 AM
After just glancing at the website I'd have to say that if it's not a hoax, at the very least the founder of this business is a little suspicious.

He is a professor emeritus in the biology departments of three Ivy League universities and his groundbreaking studies have been published in Science, The Lancet and the Journal of the American Medical Association among others.

Wht not mention the names of the "three Ivy League universities"?

What were the titles of his "groundbreaking studies"?

The website describes the founder of the "Godsend institute" thusly:

Dr. Richard Wells is hailed as one of the true visionaries in the field of fertility, and is widely considered to be the top genetic engineering researcher in the United States.

Odd that a Google search reveals no information about the "top genetic engineering researcher in the United States".

Looking up the awards he is reputed to have been given:

He is a three time winner of the prestigious Caldwell Award for Science

The American Political Science Association gives out the award which according to its website is called:

Lynton Keith Caldwell Award
for the best book on environmental politics published during the past year.

Its list of past winners does not include a Richard Wells, and the award was named something else prior to 1996. It's not all that "prestigious" of an award after all.

As for the "Lyndon R Robertson Prize in Fertility Research", the only mention Google has of this award comes from the Godsend Institute's website, so I have to conclude that it is completely fictitious.

Looks like this guy's a scam artist.

BorgHunter
04-24-2004, 07:03 PM
There's a link on that page labeled "Do-it-yourself eligibility testing" that goes to Godesnd (the movie)'s page. I think it's a way of getting some sort of publicity for said movie.