PDA

View Full Version : Is this a scam?


Dio Seijuro
06-26-2005, 08:36 PM
http://maximumpayjobs.com/

It looks suspicious.

Souled_Out
06-26-2005, 08:50 PM
The old saying "If it looks to good to be true....." comes to mind.

Dio Seijuro
06-26-2005, 08:55 PM
Here's another one:

http://www.surveycity.net/

Curiously, sites such as these are being sponsored by about.com and have banners there.

Darth Be'lal
06-26-2005, 08:57 PM
Don't go for it.

One of the FIRST things to look for in a scam is some kind of phrasing "this is not a scam" and that website is full of such phrases. When you pick up a Wal-Mart advertisement they don't say get this product at this price then say it's not a scam. Why, because it simply isn't a scam. When you go to Wal-Mart, you will see that product at that price.

Also NOBODY pays out $300-$400 an hour unless you are doing very, very valuable work. What kind of work would an average person do that is worth $300 an hour? Lawyers can make that kind of money. So can CEOs, brain surgeons, drug dealers, protitutes and oil barrons. Nobody else.

In the end, if it sounds too good to be true, then it is. Be aware.

Dio Seijuro
06-26-2005, 09:01 PM
Now, another one:

http://www.surveyscout.com

All very similar. The websites that sponsor their links are legit, commercial websites. That's one reason why I am confused.

~Sal~
06-26-2005, 09:12 PM
Yes it is well written, enticing, very smooth. What they don't mention is how much you will personally have to invest OR how much they will have to make off of the product first before you get paid and a host of other things I can think of...

If they are paying $150.00 an hour it is because they are making 1500.00 to 2000.00 an hour off of your opinion... and the chances of that are???????????

Dio Seijuro
06-26-2005, 09:27 PM
Now I googled online survey scam and arrived at www.consumer-protection-company.com, where it actually reviews websites such as those I just listed.

It advises that most of these online survey organizer sites are scams, or are of low quality. However it provided several sites they reviewed and thought were good.

Interesting. Now the question becomes whether www.consumer-protection-company.com itself is legit. Does anyone know?

es347fan
06-26-2005, 09:32 PM
As to your last question, I've not a clue. However, on the topic, overall, " ... if it sounds to good to be true, it probably is ... " is a valid challenge.

Souled_Out
06-26-2005, 09:37 PM
Probably not...You gotta keep in mind that no matter how "legit" a company is, they are out to make money and will advertise just about anything (money making scam, in this case) as long as there's money in it.

DrewM
06-27-2005, 07:35 AM
100% scam

just because about.com lets them advertise means nothing. About.com would take your money if you were selling shrink wrapped dog shit - they don't care.

LionelHutz
06-27-2005, 12:10 PM
Originally posted by DrewM
About.com would take your money if you were selling shrink wrapped dog shit - they don't care.

SmellyPoop.com (http://www.smellypoop.com/)

Dio Seijuro
06-27-2005, 12:32 PM
Lionel

Damn! I swear that was an idea my friend and I thought up back in highschool. :rolleyes:

Dio Seijuro
06-27-2005, 12:35 PM
Drew

Do you think www.consumer-protection-company.com is also a scam?

DanF
06-27-2005, 01:30 PM
Scam, why else would they have to charge you to sign up?

DrewM
06-27-2005, 06:19 PM
Originally posted by LionelHutz
SmellyPoop.com (http://www.smellypoop.com/)

check out the order page

All Ordering has been removed from our site as we have recently learned it is not legal.

No doubt! - I sure sending shit through the mail is not allowed. Bio-hazard to the postal workers and all that.

Do you think www.consumer-protection-company.com is also a scam?

Yes - thats a scam site. It's a garbage site - when you click on the links of the 'very best' you are clicking affiliate links where they make money if you sign up. Plus just look at the site - its a frontpage template. It's just a site designed to fool people and generate money making clicks.